Reservation

Accent care

9:00am - 10:00am
Main Library
This is not a library-led event.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Small Meeting Room
This event is in the "Health & Wellness" group.

Seniors Self-Defense Workshop

10:00am - 11:30am
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Veterans Room
Age Group: Adults, Older Adults
Program Type: Health & Wellness
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 8
Event Details:
Join Lindsey of Strictly Self Defense to rebuild your self confidence by learning prevention strategies, along with simple, effective strikes and escapes. Those who are differently abled and use walking aids are welcome to attend. All techniques can ...

Disclaimer(s)

Physical Activity

By joining this class, you declare that you are physically fit and ready to participate and understand any physical activity may involve some risk of injury. You may rest at any time during the class. It is your responsibility to consult with your physician with respect to any past or present injury, illness, health problem, or any other condition or medication that may affect your participation.

The participant assumes all risks of injury and illness that may result from such participation. The participant agrees to waive and release the Oak Park Public Library, its officers, employees, trustees, and agents and shall hold such persons/entity harmless from any and all liability for any claim, suit, or other cause of action which might arise from injuries, illness, damages, or loss which may occur on account of participation in such activities.

This event is in the "Kids & Families" group.
This event is in the "Storytimes" group.

Baby Lapsit

11:00am - 11:30am
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Storytime Room
Age Group: Babies & Toddlers
Program Type: Kids & Families, Storytimes
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 15

Baby Lapsit

This storytime is designed for one-on-one interactions between caregivers and babies who are not yet walking. Babies learn to associate books with fun and shared moments with their favorite adults. Short books are paired with songs and rhymes that are modeled to introduce pre-literacy skills. #babytoddler See all upcoming storytimes »

Event Details:
  #babytoddler ...

Disclaimer(s)

Masks Encouraged

Masks for everyone age 2+ are encouraged while attending this program.

This event is in the "Health & Wellness" group.

VIRTUAL: Chair Yoga

12:30pm - 1:00pm
Virtual
Registration closed
Required
Virtual Event
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Virtual
Room: Virtual Program
Age Group: Adults, Older Adults
Program Type: Health & Wellness
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: Unlimited

Chair Yoga

Calm and center your mind while moving your body through intentional poses and sequences. Chair yoga can improve your flexibility, concentration, and strength, while boosting your mood, and reducing stress and joint strain. Now is a great time to start a practice or revisit one.

What to know before you join

  • Chair yoga and meditation are accessible and open for all
  • Dress comfortably
  • Find a location where you can focus and dedicate 30 minutes to you
  • You are not required to keep your camera on
  • Prepare to take time to match your movement and motion and have a little fun
  • Have a chair that can be stationary

About the instructor
Instructor DuShaun Branch is focused on bringing yoga to as many BIPOC and plus-sized communities as possible. She believes people not only need rest and relaxation, but resistance. Yoga is a powerful way to tap into the balance of ease and positive effort. DuShaun teaches through the lens of equity and trauma-informed, hosting classes in “nontraditional” settings all over the city. She intends on taking down as many barriers as possible to bring yoga to those who are looking for calm and relaxed minds. DuShaun truly believes yoga is for all, and shares that throughout Chicago and beyond.

Disclaimer(s)

Virtual Program

After you register (below), you will receive an email with a specific Zoom link to join the event.

By registering, you agree to library policy and understand that no conduct is permitted that may reasonably be expected to create a disturbance or otherwise interfere with the safe use and enjoyment of the library and program by others. All times are listed in Central time.

Physical Activity

By joining this class, you declare that you are physically fit and ready to participate and understand any physical activity may involve some risk of injury. You may rest at any time during the class. It is your responsibility to consult with your physician with respect to any past or present injury, illness, health problem, or any other condition or medication that may affect your participation.

The participant assumes all risks of injury and illness that may result from such participation. The participant agrees to waive and release the Oak Park Public Library, its officers, employees, trustees, and agents and shall hold such persons/entity harmless from any and all liability for any claim, suit, or other cause of action which might arise from injuries, illness, damages, or loss which may occur on account of participation in such activities.

This event is in the "Equity & Anti-Racism" group.
This event is in the "Kids & Families" group.
This event is in the "Storytimes" group.

Supported Storytime

1:30pm - 2:00pm
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Storytime Room
Age Group: Preschool, Elementary School
Program Type: Equity & Anti-Racism, Kids & Families, Storytimes
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 10
Event Details:
Designed for children with disabilities ages 3+ with caregiver support. Classes are structured with visual schedules and include fun picture books and songs, with fine and gross motor movement activities. Sensory supports like lap weights and fidget ...

Disclaimer(s)

Masks Encouraged

Masks for everyone age 2+ are encouraged while attending this program.

This event is in the "Arts & Culture" group.

Shakespeare Movie Fest: Henry V

2:00pm - 4:30pm
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Veterans Room
Age Group: Adults, Older Adults
Program Type: Arts & Culture
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 144
Event Details:
Join in a celebration of Shakespeare's work at this weekly film series. Each week will feature a different film based on a Shakespeare's play. Come to all or any of the series.  April 9: Henry V Adaptation of Shakespeare's patriotic histor...
This event is in the "Digital Learning" group.
This event is in the "Kids & Families" group.

Tablet Time

4:00pm - 5:00pm
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Storytime Room
Age Group: Elementary School
Program Type: Digital Learning, Kids & Families
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 12

Tablet Time

It's Tablet Time in the Children's Services Area! Try apps for drawing, music, and video creation, puzzles and games, coding, science, and more!

Event Details:
Try out a new app, play a favorite game, share with a friend or by play yourself. Kids will play on Children's Services iPad in the storytime room. For Kids in grades PK-5. ...
This event is in the "Students Grades 6-8" group.

Tea Talk

4:30pm - 5:30pm
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Middle School Space
Age Group: Middle School
Program Type: Students Grades 6-8
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: Unlimited
Event Details:
Open space for Middle School student to express themselves through Talking, Education and Art. To receive advice on daily topics from peers and middle school staff.  ...
This event is in the "Arts & Culture" group.
This event is in the "Authors & Books" group.
This event is in the "Equity & Anti-Racism" group.

Latine Author Book Cafe: Plantains and Our Becoming

6:00pm - 7:00pm
Main Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Main Library
Room: Small Meeting Room
Age Group: Adults, Older Adults
Program Type: Arts & Culture, Authors & Books, Equity & Anti-Racism
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 28

Latine Author Book Cafe

Join us on the second Tuesday of each month as we discuss works written by Latine authors.* Spanish language copies will be made available when possible. Learn more about library-led book discussions »

*After discussion with community members and staff, the library changed its usage from “Latinx” to “Latine.” Latine is a term created by LGBTQIA+ Spanish speakers. This term uses the letter "e" to illustrate gender inclusivity within existing Spanish pronunciation rules. It is a more inclusive term that acknowledges the gender and language diversity of the community.

Event Details:
ABOUT PLANTAINS AND OUR BECOMING A rousing, beautifully observed, and tender-hearted debut poetry collection about identity, culture, home, and belonging—for fans of Jasmine Mans and Fatimah Asghar   “We, children of plátanos, always g...
Reservation

&Rise Support Group for High School Girls

6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dole Branch Library
This is not a library-led event.
Library Branch: Dole Branch Library
Room: Dole Branch Meeting Room
Meeting/Event Description
Our Mission at &Rise is to empower women to be the ultimate versions of themselves no matter what adversities they’ve faced. &Rise offers educational resources, counseling, support groups, and coaching to help women rise above their trauma. This is...
This event is in the "Arts & Culture" group.

Adult Improv

7:00pm - 8:30pm
Maze Branch Library
Registration closed
Required
Please note you are looking at an event that has already happened.
Library Branch: Maze Branch Library
Room: Maze Branch Meeting Room
Age Group: Adults, Older Adults
Program Type: Arts & Culture
Registration Required
Seats Remaining: 53

Adult Improv

Looking for a way to let your inner comedian run free? Want to improve your quick-thinking skills? Join us for a night of spontaneous comedy. All skill levels welcome. Warning: Hilarity will ensue.

Adult Improv is held both in person at the Maze Branch Library and virtually every month; see all upcoming Adult Improv events »